The NCIS uses standardised coding schema to ensure data is comparable across Australian and New Zealand jurisdictions and with other data collections. Data comparability increases the value of the NCIS as a tool for research and analysis.

The NCIS uses several coding schema within its core, supplementary and speciality data fields.

Coding schema

The coding schema used by the NCIS comes from three sources: the Australian National Health Data Dictionary (NHDD), the International Classification of External Causes of Injury (ICECI) and internally developed codes tailored for Australian and New Zealand cultural sensitivities and coronial investigation.

The majority of data items are based on the definitions outlined in the NHDD. This ensures that data fields such as Date of Birth, Sex, Indigenous Origin and Marital Status are consistent with other data collections.

A coding schema based on the ICECI is used for the coding of data fields specific to injury and death. These include:

  • Incident Activity
  • Intent
  • Location of Event
  • Mechanism of Injury
  • Object or Substance Producing Injury

Sometimes it is necessary to modify or enhance the ICECI to ensure the classification system is tailored to an Australian and New Zealand context and terminology. For example, the location code Sidewalk is changed to Footpath; or the inclusion of mechanism of injury code, Bullying.  

In November 2007, the NCIS codeset was updated to ICECI Version 1.2. All existing data was mapped to ensure compliance with the new version.

Upgrades to the codeset are implemented as part of routine maintenance of the NCIS.

Supplementary coding

The NCIS occupation codeset uses the Australian and New Zealand Standard Classification of Occupations (ANZSCO), and the Australian and New Zealand Standard Industrial Classification (ANZSIC), both of which are maintained by the Australian Bureau of Statistics (ABS).

Speciality coding

Data provided to the NCIS from sources other than coronial case data includes the ICD-10 Cause of Death Codes provided by the ABS and the Type of Occurrence Classification System (TOOCS) provided by Safe Work Australia.


The NCIS uses software to convert address data such as street, suburb, postcode or state to geographic coordinates of longitude and latitude.  This data is then assigned to appropriate geographic administrative boundary areas.

The geocoding structure used by the NCIS is the Australian Statistical Geography Standard 2016 (ASGS).  The geographic areas available to search on the NCIS are:

  1. LGA – Local Government Area
  2. RA – Remoteness Area
  3. SA2 – Statistical Area 2
  4. SA3 – Statistical Area 3
  5. SA4 – Statistical Area 4

Further information about NCIS geocoding is available in explanatory notes.